HomeCommercial FoodsRestaurant CornerLinks to investigateBook List
The Practical Celiac
Chef and Service Staff
Celiac Friendly Restaurants
Celiac Friendly Location Map
Chef and Service Staff
Celiac disease is a hereditary autoimmune disease that demands a person adhere to a gluten free diet.  People with Celiac do not have the choice of eating gluten.  Eating gluten will make them sick.  A few tidbits of knowledge will make it easy for you and your restaurant to accommodate these restrictions.
  1. Gluten is most often thought of as wheat but also includes  rye, barley, bulgur, couscous, spelt, kamut, semokina, triticale, einkorn and oats
  2. Marinades and sauces often contain wheat
  3. Anything thickened with flour is off limits
  4. Rice and corn are allowed foods
  5. Oil that fries breaded products contains gluten by cross contamination
  6. Gluten proteins travel so foods that touch gluten foods are contaminated
  7. Soy sauce contains gluten so any marinades containing soy sauce are off limits
  8. Celiacs are happy to read labels for you and identify if an item is ok to have - most often they will do it quietly and quickly
  9. Celiacs do not have a choice - and they have to eat - making it hard for them makes it harder for you.
  10. Oil and butter are fine for cooking meats, vegetables, fish etc., for a gluten free meal
Celiacs do not have a choice - and they have to eat - making it hard for them makes it harder for you. Celiacs out in a restaurant greatly appreciate a chef or waiter who will take a moment to help make sure they are not suffering the next day.

If you would like to have a seminar for your employees at your next staff meeting or discuss ways to make your establishment celiac friendly please e mail me at the address below and I would be happy to speak with you.

Brynn Harris: bryhar@yahoo.com